Blues Bar


2005 W.C. Handy Award Photos
Page 3

Blues Line

Bob Margolin, Mookie Brill and Charlie Musslewhite
Playing with Handy winner Bob Margolin are nominee for "Best Instrumentalist - Bass", Mookie Brill and
Charlie Musslewhite, nominee and winner in both the "Best Instrumentalist - Harmonica"
and "Best Contemporary Blues Album of the Year" categories.

Marcia Ball & Pinetop Perkins
Multi award nominee and winner of the "Best Instrumentalist - Keyboard" category, Miss Marcia Ball
escorts the nights Guest of Honor, multi award nominee and winner of both
"Traditional Blues Male Artist of the Year" and "Traditional Blues Album of the Year"
("LADIES MAN"), Mr. Pinetop Perkins

Piano Orgy
"C'mon Moe, move over". "No Larry, you move over". "Hey Curly, get these two outta here will ya".
This was not a Three Stooges routine, but it was a riot and an extravaganza all in one.
At one point, there were so many nominees/performers playing piano simultaneously
that I couldn't take pictures fast enough. Marcia Ball, Ann Rabson, Daryl Davis, Dave Maxwell,
Mitch Woods, Big Joe Duskin and John Cleary all participated in a rotating piano orgy that at
one time had six players, totaling 12 hands and 60 fingers playing at once.
For sure, the evenings highlight

Blues Piano
More of the piano orgy

Watermelon Slim
One of the ceremonies surprise hits, nominee for "Best New Artist Debut", Watermelon Slim

Greg Piccolo
Nominee for "Best Instrumentalist - Horns", Greg Piccolo. Greg was in demand this night.
He performed with four different ensembles.

Michael Powers
Michael Powers, nominee for "Best New Artist Debut" tore it up during his performance

Nora Jean Bruso
The very lovely yet hard hitting, blues belting Nora Jean Bruso, nominee for
"Best Traditional Blues Female Artist of the Year"

Andra Faye
Andra Faye, nominee for "Best Instrumentalist - Other" (Mandolin) with her husband Chris Jones playing guitar

EG Kight and Lee Anderson
The always lovely and classy looking Miss E G Kight and her guitarist Lee Anderson.
This was Miss Kight's second consecutive year with multi category nominations.

E G and Greg Piccolo
E G and Greg Piccolo. This was the last show of the evening at 2:00 A M
and in spite of that it was one of the evenings hottest performances.

Kenny Neal and Pinetop Perkins
Handy Award winners Kenny Neal and Pinetop Perkins, also the evenings "Guest of Honor",
posing for photographers backstage at the Handy Awards.

Click HERE to read The Blewzzman's Review of this special night!

More Blues Photos Here-
Page 2 ~ Page 3 ~ Page 4 ~ Page 5 ~ Page 6 ~ Page 7 ~ Page 8 ~ Page 9

Picture Index

Blues Portal Home

Blewzzman's Reviews Home

Mary4Music Home


musicmail.gif - 1199 Bytes

*All photos used with permission

Copyright 1998-2008 All Rights Reserved.